infinity plus - sf, fantasy and horror other stuff
infinity plus home pagefictionnon-fictionother stuffa to z

Mark Chadbourn

Educated at Leeds University, the author began his journalistic career in provincial newspapers, eventually becoming a crime reporter in Birmingham where he covered the Handsworth riots and several murders. Moving to London in 1986, he worked for both national newspapers and Thames TV on a freelance basis.

Bylines appeared in every national newspaper from the Daily Mirror to The Independent before he accepted a regular post at the Sunday Mirror. As an investigative journalist, he was shot at in the desert in California, set on fire with NATO troops in the Arctic and atacked by gangsters in Brighton. Following a brief spell working for an American magazine in Florida and Los Angeles, he became Music Editor and Senior Feature Writer at the now-defunct Today newspaper and then took up a post with the Daily Mail.

Chadbourn turned freelance in 1992 to write for a range of national newspapers and magazines - including Empire, Select, You!, Marie Claire and Discovery among others - and to write a regular column for the Daily Express Magazine. He also worked as a journalist for BBC TV's Good Morning programme.

Away from journalism, Chadbourn has worked as a fitter's mate at a power station, toilet cleaner and a Marmite production line worker, as well as running the independent record company, Faith, and managing bands, including one top five chart act.

His writing career began in 1990 when his first published short story won the Best New Author award in Fear magazine. It was followed by the publication of his first novel, Underground (Piatkus) in 1992. His second novel, Nocturne (Gollancz, 1994) was nominated for Best Novel in the prestigious British Fantasy Society Awards. The Eternal (Gollancz, 1996), Scissorman (Gollancz, 1997) and the non-fiction study of the paranormal, Testimony (Gollancz, 1996) followed. More recently, the series The Age of Misrule (World's End, 1999; Darkest Hour, 2000; Always Forever, 2001) was followed by The Dark Age (The Devil In Green, 2002; The Queen of Sinister, 2004; with The Hounds of Avalon in 2005). These two series were interspersed with the novellas The Fairy Feller's Master Stroke (2002) and Doctor Who: Wonderland (2003).

World's End by Mark Chadbourn Darkest Hour by Mark ChadbournAlways Forever by Mark Chadbourn
The Devil in Green by Mark ChadbournThe Queen of Sinister by Mark Chadbourn The Hounds of Avalon by Mark Chadbourn

The Age of Misrule and The Dark Age trilogies are published in the UK by Gollancz.

Order online using these links and infinity plus will benefit:
...books by Mark Chadbourn from or

Elsewhere in infinity plus:

Elsewhere on the web:

Let us know what you think of infinity plus - e-mail us at:

support this site - buy books through these links:
A+ Books: an insider's view of sf, fantasy and horror (US) | Internet Bookshop (UK)