infinity plus

Red Dot Irreal by Jason Erik Lundberg

Red Dot Irreal
Red Dot Irreal

Travel to Southeast Asia on wings of the fantastic for Jason Erik Lundberg's debut short-story collection Red Dot Irreal.

There you'll meet pirates and shamans, wise fish and mystical storytellers, living monuments and paper animals, time travelers and civet cats, stone taxi drivers, floating dental patients, and a sentient bird park.

Once you enter the surreal worlds of Lundberg's equatorial fantastika, a part of you will never leave.

Bonus: extra stories "Big Chief", "Occupy: An Exhibition" and "Bachy Soletanche" have been added for this revised edition.

Cover by Keith Brooke

Published: 17 Dec 2012

“Stories exotic, spicy, and redolent as a four-star curry. A fine meal for the mind awaits you in Lundberg’s collection.”
Jonathan Carroll, author of Outside the Dog Museum

“Lundberg’s writing is that of an Old Soul who views the world through Young Eyes; his work is jamais vu of the highest order: these stories are memories encountered for the first time, but never to be forgotten once they’ve been experienced.”
James A. Owen, author and illustrator of Here, There Be Dragons

Red Dot Irreal is a box made of the finest equatorial wood, containing a collection of genu-ine gems of the early 21st century noble art of fantastika.”
Zoran Zivkovic, author of The Last Book

Red Dot Irreal teems with imagination, location, originality, and fine writing.”
Jeffrey Ford, author of The Empire of Ice Cream

Jason Erik Lundberg

Jason Erik Lundberg is the author of several books of the fantastic–including Strange Mammals (2013), The Alchemy of Happiness (2012), Red Dot Irreal (2011), and The Time Traveler's Son (2008)–as well as the Bo Bo and Cha Cha children's picture book series and more than a hundred short stories, articles, and book reviews. He is also the founding editor of LONTAR: The Journal of Southeast Asian Speculative Fiction, series editor for Best New Singaporean Short Stories, editor of Fish Eats Lion (2012), and co-editor of A Field Guide to Surreal Botany (2008) and Scattered, Covered, Smothered (2004). A graduate of the prestigious Clarion Writers Workshop, Lundberg holds a degree in creative writing from North Carolina State University and currently lives in Singapore.

more infinity plus books by Jason Erik Lundberg:

Fish Eats Lion Strange Mammals The Alchemy of Happiness

the infinity plus shuffle:

Blue Shifting Falling Over A Restless Wind The Rat and the Serpent The Quarantined City Tommy Catkins The Sometimes Spurious Travels Through Time and Space of James Ovit The Time-Lapsed Man and other stories Genetopia Lord of Stone